Mackay FoundationMackay Foundation

Phone: 07 4968 3157 | Email: admin@mackayfoundation.com.au

Give where you live

Hossack H Fund

Hugh and Matilda Hossack arrived in Mackay in 1882,coming from Arbroath in Scotland, some twenty years after the settlement of Mackay was established. In 1893 they established a general store in River Street, known as Hossack Store, which continued to be owned and managed by the family for over one hundred years, closing in 1997. Hossacks developed over the years becoming an iconic store catering for recreational and commercial shing and boating.

Besides the store the family were involved in other facets of Mackay with Hugh Hossack being secretary of the Mackay Branch of the Waterside Workers Union for more than twenty years. He was also involved in the City Band, School of Arts, Parish Council St Paul's Presbyterian Church and served a term on the Harbour Board. His daughter Matilda (who married Charles Hope) maintained the store during the dicult depression years of the 1930's followed by the war years of the 1940's. His grandson Hugh Hope with his wife Doris was involved with the commercial shing industry in Mackay, the trochus shell industry, servicing the manned lighthouses in the region and supplying the tourist islands of the Whitsundays.

While the descendants of Hugh and Matilda Hossack now live in many places around Australia, The Hossack H Fund recognizes the role of the earlier generations in the development of Mackay and provides a means to support the Mackay community into the future.